Skip to content

Sylvia Plath

September 22, 2011

I think I relate to this… Maybe not so much the fear of being assaulted. But you can’t be a woman (who’s not straight-up weird looking, or “ugly” in some way) and try to get close to men to observe them for artistic purposes, or because youre intrigued by them without them thinking you’re trying to “get at them”…

“Being born a woman is an awful tragedy… Yes, my consuming
desire to mingle with road crews, sailors and soldiers, bar room regulars – to
be a part of a scene, anonymous, listening, recording – all is spoiled by the
fact that I am a girl, a female always in danger of assault and battery. My
consuming interest in men and their lives is often misconstrued as a desire to
seduce them, or as an invitation to intimacy. Yet, God, I want to talk to
everybody I can as deeply as I can. I want to be able to sleep in an open field,
to travel west, to walk freely at night…”

Sylvia Plath, on rape culture, etc 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

