Skip to content

Al Hirschfeld, I love you.

March 21, 2011

When I was younger, and would make a trip to the library with my dad, I would always be sure to check out the same book every once in a while. It was a huge compilation of Al Hirschfeld’s work separated by decade, and I adored it. His ability to simplify everything to a few lines and still capture the essence of his famous subjects completely hypnotized me and still does to this day.

Granted, I do love everything old Hollywood and old show business… But his caricatures aren’t the kind of stuff you sit down and get while you’re at a carnival. His line choices were sophisticated, almost lyrical. Every mark on the paper was strategic but looked so effortless.

Despite most of my work being representational figurative stuff, this type a fluid line work makes me jealous…. no one will ever come close.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

