Skip to content

6th Annual Home-made Pizza Oscar Night

February 28, 2011

Usually, a night of the rich and famous patting each other on the back is not my idea of a fun time. But I love the Academy Awards… ever since I was little I would make an effort to stay up and watch them. Maybe it stems from my love of good film, but I think it has something to do with actors being glamorous and magical like they were back in the old Hollywood days. When they were “The Stars” rather than the celebrities we know way too much about. They had class, and even though hollywood scandal isn’t a new thing, movie stars had more of an allure and mysterious quality to their lives that made audiences put them on a pedestal.

So for the past 6 years I’ve made a little tradition of making  homemade pizza on Oscar Night, and watching the glamour ensue.

A little bit of wine for the chef is always a must. And since it was Oscar Night, I went with an Oscar Winner’s Cabernet Sauvignon lol… The fact that the bottle was dramatic and Godfather-ish made me like it more.

I made three pies, A Classic Pepperoni, A supreme complete with mushrooms, black olives and bell peppers, and my biggest winner… Prosciutto and Arugula. I heard alot of yums so all in all I think it was a success. 🙂 My dough AND sauce was completely home-made, so I am quite pleased.

As for the Oscars themselves…  Black Swan took home less than I had hoped, but I DEFINITELY need to see The Kings Speech soon. The hosts were blah… But I do enjoy looking at James Franco. The chorus at the finale was an adorable touch, but they should have been in the middle when I was getting drowsy from the wine… haha…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

