Skip to content

Resolutions for Society

December 31, 2010
tags:

I love New Years, it takes on a whole sappy symbolic meaning of new chances and change for me. I make resolutions, i buy a pretty sparkly dress, I do the whole thing. But this year I keep coming up with more resolutions for all the people around me more than for myself.

Don’t get me wrong, I have plenty to improve on. But people’s bad habits are standing out this year…. Especially young people.

Here are my New Years Resolutions for Society.

#1. Put Your Phone Down!

I understand we live in a connected world, and we need to get things fast and conveniently. But work is work and play is play. If you’re in a social setting, I find it rude as hell that you’re not looking up. If I’m having a conversation with you, put your phone down…  Or Disable your connections, or answer it later, or stop checking your stupid Twitter. Just cut it out and enjoy some good old fashion human interaction. Maybe I’m a little clueless because I have avoided a buying a smart phone for so long, but I don’t even check my texts if I’m deep in conversation. So there.

#2. Learn Some Manners

I can’t tell you how many people I’ve helped in the last week who don’t say thank you! Not only that, they don’t even look me in the face as I’m helping them… I’m big on manners, I assume that most people are decent human beings before I mistrust them. But lately people have been proving me wrong, especially young people. Somewhere along the line people stopped teaching their kids “please and thank you”. We interrupt each other, distract ourselves with devices, we don’t smile at people who are friendly… Its pretty shitty. I know we all have our bad days, but that’s what manners is about, putting on a better face. So go pay a visit to your nana, I bet she’s old school enough to teach you a thing or two about it…

#3. Take a Little Pride in Your Appearance

I know we’ve come a long way from the 50’s when ladies couldn’t go outside without their face on, and a corset and dress combo. But I think we need to take it back a notch when I go to the store or out to eat and chicks are wearing Spongebob pajama pants, socks with flip-flops, and a “wife-beater” with no bra (especially when one is needed). and it’s not just ladies… Guys with their cracks hanging out and hole covered shirts and the sock/sandal combo make this list too. Take a little pride in yourself! Brush your hair for a second before you go out the door! Comfortable-Casual should be a jeans and T-shirt thing, not a Pajamas and slippers thing. If you can’t find the mascara on time, grab some sunglasses. Problem solved.

 

As For Me…..

This year I will be working on

1) Being more outgoing and social, because being an introvert isn’t helping my career any.

2) Controlling my green-eyed monster… Ladies who’s beau works in the same field as mine, don’t play. You know its hard… Its been a hard year, but I will improve it.

3) A sketch a day, and 2 paintings a month quota. No less, but much more if possible.

HAPPY NEW YEAR! Be safe, and examine your faults…. We ALL need improvement.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 12:10 am

    Totally love this post of yours.

Leave a Reply

