Skip to content

Loving Alice.

September 13, 2010

I am absolutely loving Alice Neel lately. The lady may have painted in her slip and was slightly off her rocker, but I adore her paintings.

She treated her subjects like human beings, not like pieces of furniture, and the way she painted them reveals so much about their character. Which is always something I strive to do in my own work.

I watched a documentary on her the other day. While I will say she led an interesting life and the film was good, it seemed a little over-controlled because her family members were in charge of it.

 It seemed the whole time like they were struggling not to say she was kind of a bad mother. Its interesting nonetheless, and I definitely recommend it if you’re intrigued by her work.

Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8sPFpXakI0

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 3:53 am

    Super interesting. I’ll have to check out more her work. Its quite intimate.

Leave a Reply

