Skip to content

The Self Portrait…

July 9, 2010

I’ve been thinking alot about “self-reflection”…  And as new-age bullshit as that sounds, what I really mean by that is I’ve been thinking about  people’s tendencies to go back to the subject of themselves for inspiration, reflection or answers.

Seems like everyone’s favorite subject these days is themself. What with social networking, and everyone being their own favorite celebrity I started to wonder when its OK to use yourself as a subject. (whether in art, photography or film)… And when is it OK to only care about yourself for a while before anyone else?

Its only human nature to possess some small forms of vanity right? But when is vanity too much? Is it really a NEW concept? Probably not considering that plenty have been there before…

My dad argues that selfishness is something that comes with being creative… because if you choose to focus all of your energy on what you create, others get left at the bottom of the list. But I choose not to believe it, at least completely. I believe there’s a balance that can be achieved.

I can have my cake and eat it too…. It’s just a matter of balancing, and humbleness. I know it sounds all zen, but its true. I obviously love a good self-portrait… afterall I’m the most available model there is. And I can’t lie and say it’s not fun to transform myself… whether its on purpose or not.  But I don’t linger on the subject of myself for too long…

Anyway, other’s habits are far more interesting… 😉

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonathangabrielphotography/4761536485/in/photostream/

http://www.terryrichardson.com/

http://www.cindysherman.com/

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tio Anthony permalink
    August 2, 2010 10:49 pm

    You pose an interesting question about “selfishness”. I agree with you about balance, but you must look out for number one because nobody else will do it. If you do this, you will be strong in mind and heart and be able to handle any of life’s “situations”. This peace of mind will also allow you to vigorously pursue your dreams and aspirations. So many people just exist and never “live”! I’m starting to ramble so…c ya!

Leave a Reply

