Skip to content

Allow me to toot my own horn….

May 6, 2010

I am FINALLY finished with my damn Wood class I had to take this semester for a sculpture credit. Let me just say that I’m a 2D person, and nothing makes me realize that more than seeing how lame my sculpture type stuff turns out. I have mad respect for 3D artists… especially those who work in mediums that suck, such as wood.

I think I have some pretty badass ideas when it comes to 3D work. But translating them from the page to real life just doesn’t happen for me. I admit I’m still a growing artist…. But considering the fact that my original teacher broke his shoulder and left his position a week into the semester and was replaced by a guy who didn’t believe actual INSTRUCTION was necessary for a class… I’d say I didn’t do that bad.

I just wanted so badly to be good at it… The idea of being hardcore and being able to handle power tools but still be all feminine just appeals to me in a silly way. I want to mesh ideas of wood carving in with my actual paintings. But I’ve still got a long way to go.

From here on out its self-study though… I’m quite fed up with snotty 3D graduate students, thank you very much ;-).

I think I better leave the real stuff to the professionals:

http://kuksi.com/artworks/sculpture/

http://www.jeffkoons.com/

One Comment leave one →
  1. shona permalink
    May 6, 2010 12:14 pm

    totally relate to how you feel. it sucks paying for a credit without learning much-i think i too only realized that sculpture doesn’t come naturally to me. i could have done that without the frustration/waste of money.
    i’m really glad you finished your project!
    also, kuksi rules. i’ve picked up a few magazines lately that have featured his work.

Leave a Reply

