Skip to content

Train Stalking

April 22, 2010

 

Today I got my lightrail u-pass confiscated… It was only a matter of time because I have been riding around with that thing for months knowing I had to  reapply funds.  I think the cop felt sorry for me because i was carting two arm-fulls of art supplies and was barely keeping my balance. So he let me ride on…

Im currently working on a series about human interaction on the lightrail.

 Being trapped in a moving box with a diverse mix of people can make for the quirkiest and most honest depictions of people in our city. I especially love when ones stereotypes about people are challenged…. Like when I see punk high school cholos in their Dickies and button ups give up their seats for old ladies. Or when I see uppercrust white old couples coming from Scottsdale talking cheerfully with the bums and drunks. It’s a beautiful sight.

The most intimidating part is how to approach people  (or not to) about taking their picture for a painting. I actually prefer to do it incognito, so that I show the reality of situations. My goal is to really capture the uncomfortable body language and reveal how a new concept to phoenix, like the lightrail, is forcing us all to accept the real diversity in our city.

It not like mass transit in a big city like new york or chicago where all the people are jaded, and don’t even look at each other. Accepting diversity is new to Phoenix… but it doesn’t mean it can’t be fun to watch.

Maybe you’ve seen me. I’m the nut with the big dark sunglasses, snapping photos under my bag and sketching away in a little notebook.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 9:34 am

    I love this! it’s really interesting how you take an everyday observation and turn it into art.

Leave a Reply

